ICC announced this year’s hall of fame on July 2, 2018 and India’s Rahul Dravid enters in this elite club. The Great wall of India became fifth Indian to enter in this group after Kapil Dev (2009), Bishan Singh Bedi (2009), Sunil Gavaskar(2010) and Anil Kumble (2015). Along with Dravid, two more players were also selected. They were Former Australian captain Ricky Ponting and Women’s English cricketer Claire Taylor.

ICC Hall of Fame was first introduced by International Cricket Council in association with FICA (Federation of International Cricketers Association) on 2 January, 2009 in Dubai. The cricketers entering in this club were considered as legends and it has 87 players currently.

On November 1, 2018 Rahul Dravid was presented the Hall of fame framed cap memento presented by none other than Sunil Gavaskar during the 5th ODI between India and Windies in Thiruvananthapuram. Moreover the batsman has crossed 10,000 runs both in tests and in ODIs. He has a record of highest number of catches in test cricket. The slip fielder took 210 catches which is still the number one in tests. He has 5 double centuries in tests and also captained Indian team. The batsman has a nick name of “Great Wall of India”. Dravid was the first person to receive ICC cricketer of the year and ICC test cricketer of the year in 2004.

Currently Rahul Dravid is the coach for Under-19 and India A teams.