The winner of 2018 Ballon d’Or has been announced. The dominance of Messi and Ronaldo for a decade had been came to an end.

Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric won the 2018 Ballon d’Or in Paris on Monday. The three time consecutive winner of UEFA Champions League and making Croatia to their maiden final in FIFA 2018 made the Croatian star to win the award.

This is the first time in a decade that a player other than Ronaldo and Messi to win it. The last time Brazilian star and AC Milan forward Kaka won the award in the year 2007. After that it has been dominated by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo for 10 years consecutively.

Ronaldo came second in the list and Messi joined fifth position. The third and fourth place are Antoine Griezmann and Kylian Mbappe respectively.

“As a kid we all have dreams. My dream was to play for a big club and win important trophies,” Modric said in an interview. “The Ballon d’Or was more than just a dream for me and it is really an honor and a privilege to hold this trophy. 2018 is a dream year for me. Throughout my career I realized hard work, persistence and belief in yourself in difficult moments are the foundations of success.”

The 33-year old Croatian was awarded the FIFA’s World Cup 2018 MVP, UEFA’s Player of the Year 2018, Best FIFA Footballer of the Year and the number one player by International Federation of Football History and Statistics.

Ballon d’Or feminine

This year is the first time that the award also given to female players. Norwegian forward Ada Hegerberg won the award. She has won the Champions League three times with Lyon and scored a tournament-record 15 goals last season.

Trophee Kopa award

Kylian Mbappe has been named the winner of the inaugural Trophee Kopa award. The Ballon d’Or nominee becomes the first-ever winner of the award after helping PSG to a Ligue 1 title and France to the World Cup.

Here is the list of top 10 players.

  1. Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia)
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)
  3. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid and France)
  4. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain and France)
  5. Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)
  6. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)
  7. Raphael Varane (Real Madrid and France)
  8. Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Belgium)
  9. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)
  10. Harry Kane (Tottenham and England)